The Green Store was built by John Green in 1860. John Green came from New York to Dublin. Mr. Green bought Michael Murray’s farm and built a grocery store and a hotel. He became Dublin’s first and foremost businessman. By 1870 Dublin had two hotels, a shop, a wagon and a blacksmith shop, a shoemaker, a school, a church, a Sunday school, and a crossroads for Bay Area travelers. The community was officially named Dublin by 1878, after Dublin , Ireland.

This building has been in constant use as a commercial building. It started out as a general store, turned into a neighborhood pub, was a restaurant, and is now a church. From 1914 to 1948, the Dublin Branch of the Alameda County Library was the northeast corner of the building. It was saved from destruction by the Dublin Historical Preservation Association in 1980 and was restored and expanded in 1984 by the Star Foods Corporation.

This amazing landmark is just one of the many must-see sights you don’t want to miss in Dublin, California:

  • Emerald Glen Park
  • Dublin Hills Regional Park
  • Hacienda Crossings Shopping Center
  • The Shops At Waterford
  • Fallon Sports Park 
  • Old St. Raymond’s Church
  • Wallis Ranch
  • Tassajara Hills
  • Tralee Village

All of these wonderful landmarks are located just a short distance from our location located at 6400 Village Pkwy #101 in Dublin, California! Stop by for a visit anytime!